• Working Together to Complete Interstate 69

» An Alliance of Texas Communities

The Alliance for I-69 Texas is a coalition made up of cities, counties, port authorities and community leaders building grassroots support for upgrading the entire Interstate 69 route in Texas.

Since the Alliance was formed in 1994 it has provided sustained leadership through the tireless efforts of hundreds of volunteers. Among them are the five individuals who have served as Alliance Board Chair over those years -- Louis Bronaugh, former Mayor of Lufkin; Helen Walker, former County Judge of Victoria County; Robert Eckels, former County Judge of Harris County; John Thompson, former County Judge of Polk County; Loyd Neal, former County Judge of Nueces County and former Mayor of Corpus Christi; and the current chairman, Polk County Judge Sydney Murphy.

The Alliance has always worked to encourage cooperation and seek solutions. Our members have conducted a sustained campaign to have existing highways improved to interstate highway standard connecting the residents and businesses of Texarkana, Marshall, Nacogdoches, Lufkin, Livingston, Houston, Wharton, El Campo, Victoria, Corpus Christi, Harlingen, Brownsville, McAllen, Laredo and dozens of other communities along US 59, US 77, US 281, US 84, Interstate 2 and State Highway 44.

The Alliance is a 501 (c) (6) non-profit organization.


» Alliance Board of Directors

» Alliance Partners

» Join The Alliance

The Alliance is an active and consistent advocate for the upgrade and completion of I-69 through East Texas, the Houston region, and South Texas. The organization is dedicated to the timely transformation of existing highways into a seamless interstate. We welcome your support and participation in our efforts.

For information about joining the Alliance please contact Jennifer Shepard, Alliance Executive Director.