• Judy Hawley Receives 2012 Russell H. Perry Award

November 12, 2012

Judy Hawley, vice chair of the Alliance for I-69 Texas board of directors and chair of the TxDOT I-69 Advisory Committee, has been named the 2012 recipient of the Russell H. Perry Award.

The annual award recognizes leadership in creating public awareness of the need for an adequate transportation system in Texas. It is named for the late Russell Perry, a Dallas attorney, businessman and philanthropist. The award is sponsored by the Texas A&M Transportation Institute, the Texas Department of Transportation and the Texas Good Roads Association.

There is a single Perry Award honoree each years. The honor was awarded to I-69 Alliance Chair John Thompson in 2004.


Mrs. Hawley serves as a member of the Port Commission of the Port of Corpus Christi representing San Patricio County. She has been a strong advocate of freight movement and transportation connectivity projects in Texas for many years.

Following her first career of teaching and coaching tennis, Judy Hawley served four terms in the Texas House of Representatives. During her tenure in the House, she focused her legislative agendas around issues which impacted rural Texas. She served as Vice-Chair of both the Transportation and Energy Resources Committees and authored numerous bills relating to those industries. Additionally, she served on the Agriculture and Livestock Committee and sponsored major legislation for the agricultural producers in the state.

As Chair of the Rural Caucus, she carried the legislation establishing the Office of Rural Community Affairs which coordinates rural issues among the state agencies and serves as a resource for rural communities. Serving as the Vice-Chair of the House Military Caucus, Mrs. Hawley carried the legislation which established both the Texas Military Preparedness Commission and the Office of Defense Affairs. Ms. Hawley represented Texas as Vice-Chair of the Southern States Energy Board and as a member of the National Energy Council.

She serves on several community and state boards and is past chair of the Texas State Aquarium and the Corpus Christi Regional Economic Development Corp.